24 Hours of Gaming 7: 2015 Edition

February 21, 2015

It has been way too long since I did this. Moving and getting readjusted took a little longer than I expected, so this will my first marathon in the new location. Today’s goal is to continue chipping away at the backlog and catch up on the flurry of new releases in February of 2015. Only nine games today though.

7:30am

I started a little later than I wanted to. I was aiming for 7, but I guess that happens when I forget to set my alarm.

I’m starting with Final Fantasy IX. I may have not finished FFVIII (I got really close), but it is finished with me. Think of it as “a new year, a new Final Fantasy.”

Ffixbox

I am pretty excited about starting IX, I have heard from several people whose opinions I really trust that it is their favorite in the long line of Square RPGs.  It also has the highest metascore of any game with the big ole FF attached.

The game begins with some nice scenes on a boat.

The first three hours of FFIX were solid. The world is being set up, the characters introduced, and the, thankfully, more traditional combat is being explained. It is definitely too early to call it, but IX is looking a lot better than VIII and I could see myself liking it more than VII by the time credits roll.

10:30am

Starting another new game! This time it is Kirby and the Rainbow Curse for WiiU. Kirby Canvas Curse is one of my top 2 Kirby games, so seeing a sequel on WiiU seems like the natural progression.

2770758-1402622707-kirby-and-the-rainbow-curse-key-art

Rainbow Curse is pretty great. The art style carries it a long way. I was able to get through the first two worlds of what looks to be a not very long game, which is fine though. The game was only $40, and so far I would say that it is well worth the price of entry.

12:30pm

It’s time to hunt some monsters in Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate.

monster-hunter-4-ultimate-zamtrios-1

MH4 is a lot like MH3. There are some nice tweaks here and there, but I’m still not loving the series. I understand the appeal. Maybe I just need more narrative justification in my gaming obsessions nowadays. I’m getting close to 15 hours in the game, and it still isn’t clicking like I know it can, maybe it just take a couple hundred hours more for me to properly appreciate it.

3:30pm

Super Paper Mario. The two hours fly by fairly quickly as I complete world 4 and a good chunk of 5. It is nice finally being over the halfway point in this game. I find it weird how this game is more like an adventure game than anything else with its puzzles and focus on exploration.

Chapter 4 take place primarily in space.

Chapter 4 takes place primarily in space.

5:30pm

Back to Grandia II, it has been far too long.

I beat the Claws of Valmar on my first try. The bosses keep getting more difficult, and the fights keep getting longer. I’m glad I was able to make such progress.

This battle took far too long.

This battle took far too long.

7:30pm

Now for some Atelier Ayesha PLUS: Alchemist of the Dusk Sky. I love me some Atelier.

AtelierAyesha

It took me a while to figure out where I was at and what I needed to do since it had been over a month since I last touched the game. However, it did not take long for the game to cast its spell on me again. I’m going to have to blitz through the rest of Ayesha because the new Atelier game comes out in a couple of weeks.

9:30pm

One of the main reasons I wanted to another 24-hour marathon was due to myself falling behind on the year’s releases, one of which being Grow Home.

Growhomeannouncement03png-56e728

News Flash: Grow Home is excellent. It might run a little on the short side (I beat it in under an hour and a half), but I haven’t played anything this fresh in quite a while. A full review should be coming shortly.

11:00pm

Another reason I needed to do this marathon is to get in some serious time with Apotheon. The game looks like a Greek painting/pottery art. Much like Rainbow Curse, the art style gives the game a good edge.

ss_df8b36c85c86d64ab234d5581e2e9073f438bf0a.1920x1080

Apotheon has some nice gameplay to back it up too. The game is like a Metroidvania style RPG. Armor and weapons can deteriorate, be repaired, and be upgraded. The game is more deliberate than its action-heavy genre bedfellows. Attacks take a while to wind up, momentum is gained over time while running, and it has a crafting system. It has a unique feel, and some cool boss fights so far.

12:00am

I left 2 hours open for the day to be filled with whatever I was feeling, and with guests over, handhelds make sense. So, it’s back to Monster Hunter 4!

Earlier today the focus was on multiplayer, now I’m going after single-player.

monsterimg0201

I defeated several enormous monstrosities.

2:00am

I got unstuck in Oblivion rather quickly, in order to get stuck right after it. I need some bright dust from a will-o-the-wisp in order to summon a daedric being in order to get an artifact for a reason I can’t remember. ESIV: Oblivion has continued to be obtuse and generally unfun to play. It should not come as a surprise that I do not think it has aged well. I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to finish it or not.

541104-_42247406_oblivion_cut

4:00am

Back to Apotheon to close out the day. I probably got through a good two-thirds of the game today and should be able to finish it up quickly later this week. It is still solid, and the boss encounters are probably the best part.

Apollo is a jerk.

Apollo is a jerk.

As I always say: there are far too few hours in the day, and I’ll be ready to do another one of these soon. After all, March is typically one of the busiest game release months of the year.

The Breakdown

7:30am – 10:30am – Final Fantasy IX

10:30am – 12:30pm – Kirby and the Rainbow Curse

12:30pm – 3:30pm – Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate

3:30pm – 5:30pm – Super Paper Mario

5:30pm – 7:30pm – Grandia II

7:30pm – 9:30pm – Atelier Ayesha PLUS: Alchemist of the Dusk Sky

9:30pm – 11:00pm – Grow Home

11:00pm – 12:00am – Apotheon

12:00am – 2:00am – Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate

2:00am – 4:00am – The Elder Scrolls: Oblivion

4:00am – 7:30am – Apotheon

Leave a Reply

