24 Hours of Gaming 4

24 Hours of Gaming 4

Alex Linna

April 16, 2014

The primary focus of today will be to eliminate games in my backlog, as well as continue playing some games I am currently working on reviews for.

6:45am

First up, is Final Fantasy VIII, again.

100FinalFantasyGunblade

Squall’s such a bad boy hijacking that car.  A cool two-round boss fight and it is finally on to the second disc!

There are some ups and downs, the team gets split up and gets back together on this emotional roller coaster that is Final Fantasy VIII.  They escape an underground jail and sabotage a missile base.  This game is really leaning in to the “playing as a terrorist” angle. 15 hours in! I should be well passed the halfway point now.

9:45am

I’m sticking with the JRPGs and going to continue on with Grandia II.  I doubled up on my time spent with Grandia II (4 hours in total now, I had previously only played 2hr).  I got a new character to join the party and I ended right before what is surely a boss room.  The game continues to have a good flow and it looks like it will have some interesting side stories along the way.  The current village I am in is stricken with having lost their sense of taste.  It is unknown if these people have loss favor with the god of the land or if something sinister is at work. All in all, the two hours pass quickly.

GII_Mareg_Wallpaper

11:45am

Next up is Mario & Luigi: Dream Team. I played a little ahead this time, I got all the bed pieces before diving back into Dreamt Team again today, however, it turns out that I have to rescue the person who must assemble the bed from the pieces.  I thought, “Oh, that won’t take long.” I was wrong. It took about two hours from the time I got the last bed piece to get the bed assembled.  It closed with a challenging boss fight.  This game continues to stretch out what has already been super stretched out, and it is losing me.

256405-ML4DreamTeam

1:45pm

Back to The Wonderful 101.  Two hours planned for today, what color do I unlock next?  I think this game has yet to grab is due to how “not varied” the gameplay is.  The new Wonderful people add a little, but most of the puzzles are dumb, and the action gets repetitive quickly.  It’s sad, because it is still a decent action game; it just cannot hold my interest.

Wonderful101_WonderWhite-2

And it was Wonder White from Japan with Wolverine claws who was the new character this time.

3:45pm

Following the two previous marathons, next up is 4 hours of Donkey Kong Country 3.  It is not a horrible game.  It is just plagued by some questionable design and character choices. Brock and I almost made through 6 of the 8 worlds. The game is not easy.

Donkey_Kong_Country_3_-_Dixie_Kong's_Double_Trouble!_(NA)

7:45pm

Now, on to 2 hours of Super Paper Mario. It’s a game that I started for the Best Wii list we did recently, and I would like to finish it.

The Mario RPGs are all incredibly charming, and Super Paper Mario is certainly no different, even though this time around it is not a RPG at all.  It is an action-platformer with a nice perspective-changing gimmick.  The game’s art direction is wonderful. There is a lot of reading to be done, but the writing is great. This is Intelligent Systems after all (who went on to make Fire Emblem: Awakening).

gfs_75574_2_8

I finish the first chapter rather quickly and take out a good chunk of Chapter 2.

9:45pm

Atelier Escha & Logy: Alchemists of the Dusk Sky might be a mouthful of a title for a game, but it is also a game with a lot going on with its gameplay.  “Complex” is one word that comes to mind, “Deep” is another.  There is so much to do and the game looks fantastic and has some of the best video game music out there. It is a pleasure to experience, but it is not for the faint of heart, Atelier will ask a lot of its players, but it gives more than it takes.  I am only about 3 hours into game and I can’t wait to see how it progresses.

Atelier-Escha-Logy-2

10:45pm

Let’s keep this JRPG train a’rollin’.  I played about an hour or two of Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII when it was released, and have not touched it again until right now.

So, it turns out Lightning Returns is pretty good. I played almost two hours more than I was originally planning.  FFXIII-III is a weird JRPG much like the first two XIII games, but each are unique in how they are weird.  XIII-III is essentially a complete opposite of FFXIIILightning Returns is very open with a several large, highly detailed environments to explore and get to know.  And you will want to get to know them, not due to the convoluted storyline, but the urgency felt in the side quests.  I found myself not wanting to put it down.  The focus of the gameplay is not on the core combat, but in exploration, efficient time-management, and side-questing.  It feels really unique and foreign in some ways.

1384344_497953200300839_535107736_n_thumb

2:30am

Rune Factory 4 is one of four games that have been a part of every one of my 24-hour marathons since I began, and I’m afraid I have hit a wall.  I am currently on a boss that I have tried a good 10+ times with varying ranges of success, but I have yet to topple the foe.  30 minutes of trying over and over again went rather quickly.

3:00am

Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars was released yesterday and I put a lot of time into it.  So, there is no surprise that it was the game I was most looking forward to playing today.  I intentionally put near the end of the 24 hours due to the thought that if I started it; I would not want to stop.  So here we are at 3:00 am, let’s see if I can pull myself away in two hours.

cover

My suspicions were well founded it seems.  Closing the day with nearly 4 hours of Conception II was a great way to bring an end to the 4th marathon.

I was planning on starting Bully and ending with Oblivion again, but Conception II is just too good it seems.  Lightning Returns was probably the biggest highlight of the day, however, I was not pumped to play it today, it ended up being the best thing I played today.  Who knows if it will continue to be good.  Conception II and Atelier were also pretty great.

Summary

6:45am-9:45am – Final Fantasy VIII

9:45am-11:45am – Grandia II

11:45am-1:45pm – Mario & Luigi: Dream Team

1:45pm-3:45pm – The Wonderful 101

3:45pm-7:45pm – Donkey Kong Country 3

7:45pm-9:45pm – Super Paper Mario

9:45pm-10:45pm – Atelier Escha & Logy: Alchemists of the Dusk Sky

10:45pm-2:30am – Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII

2:30am-3:00am – Rune Factory 4

3:00am-6:45am – Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars

 

After today, I would like to try a 24-hour marathon where I play even fewer games.  Playing more of less would make it feel like I am accomplishing more.

Leave a Reply

