24 Hours of Gaming 3

24 Hours of Gaming 3

March 4, 2014

Alex Linna

Journal

The previous entries are here for part 1 and here for part 2.

7:30am

Well, here we are again.  Getting started early always feels good, and first on the docket today is naturally Final Fantasy VIII. Nearly all the games planned for today are from last time, so this should be a shorter write-up.

The bad girl.

Someone should have told Square that random battles aren’t supposed to take this long.  The Tomb of The Unknown King is bringing the pretty visuals.  The ID number for the sword in front of me is 019. I was told in a walkthrough to right write down. What, they don’t think I can remember two numbers!  Wow, this place is one annoying mess of a maze.  We’re about to assassinate a sorceress. Surely, she’ll just teleport away when she senses trouble.  Lots of cutscenes and a tiresome sewer section.

I have still only played FFVIII in a marathon setting. Today’s three hours were rough. Two unfun sections, but the story is starting to come together in some interesting ways.

Original NOS consumed at 9:30 to help jumpstart the day.  That unknown king tomb takes a lot out of you.

10:30am

Next up is Grandia II. I have yet to mention how I like the look and feel of this game.  It is such a product of its time, the late 90’s.  It is clearly between generation 5 and 6 of consoles.  Some presentational cues are recognizable as being from the PSX/64 era, while it looks like a Gamecube/PS2 game.

Millenia is quickly becoming one of my favorite JRPG characters.

Jennifer Hale showed up, otherwise the voice acting is largely not so good.  There is an inherent liability to be found in Grandia II.  I don’t have it nailed down yet, but it is at the same time generic and unique.  I guess I’ll have to keep playing.  I got two new party members in the space of an hour. It stepped it up fast. I am now excited about playing more Grandia.

11:30am

It is time for the handheld lunchtime invasion that begins with Mario & Luigi: Dream Team.  It must be fated that I never finish a Mario & Luigi game.  If Dream Team was the length of the others I would be near the end, but this one is twice as long…

One day soon I will have this magic bed completed.

I got another piece of the magical bed. One to go.

12:30pm

I spent most of my hour with Rune Factory 4 wondering around trying to figure out what to do. I eventually did and got pummeled by a boss. You’ll be mine next time!

Ventuswill, the dragon that helps you along the way.

1:30pm

Jak II.  Today must be my day in the sewers… ugh… again with sewers.  This is turning into an episode of Bro Team.  Very not fun half-hour with Jak II, bummer, I was liking where this game was going.

2:00pm

Perfect Dark Zero.  The second mission of the game is fairly terrible. I cut my time with the game short after how poor the second mission was.

2:30pm

I feel as though it should be noted how funny Aya’s run animation is in Parasite Eve.  It looks like she is trying to hug the air.  The music is still excellent.  Parasite Eve is hard.  I have been dying over and over inching for every step of progress.  I finished the second chapter of the game.  I just needed to get going. I was loaded with ammo and medicine by the end of the chapter, it was just a struggle to get to that point.  Also the story in this game is bonkers.  I expected something crazy after playing The Third Birthday, but this is still pretty far out there.

Chapter 2 takes place in Central Park.

4:30pm

Back to Bravely Default.  A quick hour, a solid boss fight, two new jobs, and some grinding.

5:30pm

Since Brock and I did Donkey Kong Country last time, we are now doing DKC2: Diddy Kong’s Quest. Enter Dixie Kong.  Rescue Donkey Kong.

We didn’t have a Game Over until the 5th world, we were cruising through the game until a mandatory spider level shut us down.  In four-hours we nearly finished 5 of the six worlds. We should be able to finish this one up shortly when we go back to it.

That freaking spider…

I’m not convinced that I like DKC2 more than the original yet. There is a lot more going on in 2, but there is something classic about the original. They are both great.

9:30pm

I had two hours of Bravely Default initially planned, so I decided to take out the second hour now.  I had a tough boss fight that I essentially had to kill three times; it was ridiculous. I’m am still rather enjoying Bravely Default and the job system is fun and engaging.

There is some beautiful artwork in Bravely Default.

10:30pm 

By some miracle, my WiiU decided to play a Wii game on the first try for the first time in a long time.  I’m excited to get back into Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon.  My 2 hours started and ended roughly.  The first 10-15 min was reacquainting myself to the controls.  The last 15-20 min were spent figuring out how poor of a stealth game Fragile is. The middle part was fun, however.  I hit a good groove and things were looking up until the game shifted.

Catching him is so annoying.

12:30am

The end of the 24 hours is in sight.  I had another hour of Parasite Eve planned, so I am going to take that out now.  I ran over time in order to finish a fiercely difficult chapter 3.

NOS consumed at 12:30am.

2:00am

Here’s to hoping that The Wonderful 101 will help wake me up.  I have been feeling the eyestrain a little more this time around, and this is likely the very worst game as far as eyestrain goes.

I defeated a giant black dragon thing with a fly flying it.

3:30am

Time to shoot from the first-person perspective with F.E.A.R. I have not actually played any of the games that repeat on this list from last time since that last marathon.  I am picking up where I left off.  It worries me that I might only be able to play my backlog as in marathon form from now on.

Sadly, F.E.A.R. is standing on the edge of being generic.

F.E.A.R is more creepy than actually scary. The game still plays quite well.

5:30am

I am doing a repeat performance and closing with The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion.  I finally got to level two, but just barely before the end of the two-hour session came to a close.  I got as much main quests stuff done as I could. I was surprised with how quickly the game takes the player through an Oblivion gate.

Concluding Thoughts

This being the third time I’ve done a 24-hour marathon it is something that I find to be a lot of fun.  Having another person along for the experience definitely helps.  I’m planning on doing my fourth run soon with another person.  I might try to change it up a little bit for the next one.

The highlights were Donkey Kong Country 2, when Fragile and Parasite Eve were not frustrating, and Grandia II finally getting good.

Summary

7:30am-10:30am – Final Fantasy VIII

10:30am-11:30am – Grandia II

11:30am-12:30pm – Mario & Luigi: Dream Team

12:30pm-1:30pm – Rune Factory 4

1:30pm-2:00pm – Jak II

2:00pm-2:30pm – Perfect Dark Zero

2:30pm-4:30pm – Parasite Eve

4:30pm-5:30pm – Bravely Default

5:30pm-9:30pm – Donkey Kong Country 2

9:30pm-10:30pm – Bravely Default

10:30pm-12:30am – Fragile Dreams

12:30am-2:00am – Parasite Eve

2:00am-3:30am – The Wonderful 101

3:30am-5:30am – F.E.A.R.

5:30am-7:30am – The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

Leave a Reply

