24 Hours of Gaming V.2

24 Hours of Gaming V.2

February 4, 2014

Alex Linna

The goal of today is to play 24 hours of video games continuously without ceasing.  This will be my third attempt of this and hopefully my second success.  I am accompanied by friend and BADGamingPodcast fellow, Brock Morgan on this journey today.  I will be targeting backlog games primarily.

8:30am

Hello Final Fantasy VIII, we meet again! This is the third time I began a 24-hour session with 3 hours of FFVIII. I’m not sure what I’ll do if I ever complete it.

Seifer kidnapped the president and is presumably dead, and there is a sorceress.  The story is getting weird and the SeeDs organization that Squall and company are a part of is feeling more and more like a group of mercenary terrorists.  A lot of cut-scenes in this 3-hour session, and not too much combat, and I’m okay with that.  I made good progress today; maybe one day I can start FFIX.

At least Robin Williams is in the game.

Limeade Mountain Dew Kickstart consumed at 10:30am.

11:30am

It's great working for one of the humans from WALL-E.

It’s great working for one of the humans from WALL-E.

Jak II, probably Naughty Dog’s best work is up next.  This will be my second hour of the open world wonderfulness.  It continues to be a good time.  The game has a very strange tone that straddles being over serious and ridiculous. I just wait for the joke to happen, but it never does, so I am left in suspense wondering if the game is really taking itself that seriously.

12:30pm

Mario & Luigi: Dream Team, also known as the game that will never end.  I am still assembling a large bed. I get one of the three remaining parts.  It is nice to see the bean bandit from Super Star Saga show up again in Dream Team.

2:00pm

After a short lunch break with Dream Team, I’m back onto The Wonderful 101.  I finally got Wonder Yellow, our Russian hammer-wielding friend.  This is a challenging game that is exhilarating, but taxing on the player.  I hopefully will beat the game sometime in February.

3:00pm

I’m going to have to cut my time in Grandia II a little short today, due to running over in Dream Team and W101.  I have been surprisingly impressed by Grandia II.  The story is starting to come together after being two hours in.  The combat has some interesting distinctive factors, like its weird timer mechanic. The voice acting is a little rough though.

Spoilers: Forced death against her.

3:30pm

Ah, Parasite Eve, I have been anxious to get back to this one. I made myself beat Final Fantasy VII first before continuing Parasite Eve.  I really enjoyed The Third Birthday, despite not having played the two previous entries in the series.  I know most people who love the first two Eve games loathe the third. Hopefully, I will like them all.  Oh yeah, Parasite Eve has one of my favorite theme songs in all of gamedom.

Square has always had a knack for presentation and Parasite Eve is no slouch in the presentation department.  It is a great looking PS1 game.  I dig it. The combat is both turn-based and real-time. It is wonderful, and much more enjoyable than Breath of Fire: Dragon Quarter.

4:30pm

Rune Factory 4, a lovely and charming game.  My hero is still unwed unfortunately, but I was able to fell another large boss. I’m playing the game on “easy” and it still proves more challenging than I expected as a mediocre action-RPG.  It is the simulation elements and pure overwhelming amounts of thing to do in RF4 that make it so appealing. And it looks nice.

This is who I am courting.

5:30pm

Okay, Brock and I are going to try to beat Donkey Kong Country in one blow here.  Spoilers: We fail.  It was a valiant effort. We got it handed to us on the first mine cart level, and a particular barrel level in the snow.  It was fun to watch us get progressively more efficient at the game.  I believe we were only 3 levels away from having it beat, however. We even went over the allotted time. After 4.5 hours we were close, but no cigar for us.  That time was filled with highs and lows, and was generally very enjoyable and memorable.

Black Cherry Mountain Dew Kickstart consumed at 6:00pm.

10:00pm

With the overshooting of DKC by a bit, I’m bumping up my time with Sin & Punishment.  Man, I love me some Sin & Punishment.  This delicious previous Japanese-only release was put up on the Wii Virtual Console some years ago in 2007. I would assume this was to help generate buzz for it sequel Star Successor that is also a very delightful and challenging game.  I started Sin & Punishment again last week and wanted some more time with it.  It is still great and is one of the best rail shooters out there.

10:30pm

Time to get scared. I have been trying to understand the concept of horror as entertainment, and that might be most effectively investigated with a game called F.E.A.R..  I have a little block intentionally somewhat earlier in the night set aside to explore this fear as fun idea.

This is what you are met with as you descend a random ladder.

This is what you are met with as you descend a random ladder.

It turns out that F.E.A.R. is really really good. I went over the allotted time with it unknowingly and completely immersed.  It is one of the best things I have played in the stretch between Half-Life 2 and Bioshock.  It has aged exceptionally well, and it isn’t all that scary yet. It’s a little creepy, sure, but I am more than eager to keep playing it.

12:00am

Let’s keep this shooter party going. I have lower expectations for this one. It is time to see if Perfect Dark Zero is indeed as bad as everyone says.  Perfect Dark for the 64 is currently my 28th favorite game of all time.  Will Zero be a zero and the most disappointing sequel of all time? Probably both.

I haven’t been too tired all day. The most tired I felt was right before dinnertime, but anyway, well over halfway now!

I realized that I never read why everyone didn’t like Perfect Dark Zero. I am going to guess it was the awfully implemented cover system.  I guess in a pre-Gears of War world it is acceptable… oh how I long for that pre-Gears of War world.  The system is actually kind of like Deus Ex: Human Revolution or Rainbow Six: Vegas’.  It looks pretty great for a launch title.

12:30am

I would be lying if I said I wasn’t stalling to avoid playing anymore of the next game… I have previously started Sonic the Hedgehog (2006). I honestly could not complete the first level. I am going to try to do that again now.  Why would one do this to oneself, I am sure you are asking.  I want to do a Sonic retrospective and chart the downfall of the blue blur and that includes this mess.

I am starting to feel a little eyestrain, but Sonic is surely not going to help me feel better about anything.  The game has much better presentation than I would have expected. SEGA kind of went all out here in the graphics and cutscenes department, despite how much of a fury fantasy they are.

Jackpot.

So aside from saying the obvious, “Bad game is bad, and SEGA and Sonic Team should feel bad.” I look forward to playing more of Sonic the Hedgehog (2006) so I can practice describing what it is that makes it so unplayable and painful to experience. Here’s a little taste: It took an additional 30 minutes to complete the first real level that is obviously modeled off of the first level of Sonic Adventure.  There is no autosave feature.  So, I got to do the mind-numbing intro stuff again before actually being able to play the first level.  There are the typical Sonic checkpoints in levels, but that doesn’t mean the game saved there, because if you shut that system off then that hard toiled progress vanishes!  And… the loading screens… that are literally everywhere all the time.

Seriously though, eff Sonic the Hedgehog (2006). It is probably worse than anything you have heard about it.

1:00am

I’m going to continue to alter my planned schedule and go with two hours of Metroid Prime 2: Echoes next.  I need a palette cleanser after one functional, but unimpressive first-person shooter, and whatever one would call the tragic disorder that is Sonic ’06Sonic makes me not want to continue to play video games.

I consume an original Rockstar energy drink. This one should get me through to the end.

 

Prime 2 has been in the top ten of my Favorite Games List ever since its inception in 2007 when it was only a crisp 70 elite games.  Most would probably say it is the worst of the Prime Trilogy, but I go back and forth with all three of them.  I’m playing it on the Wii with Wii controls.  Metroid Prime 3: Corruption might be my most immersive gaming experience ever with how well implemented the controls are to the Wiimote scheme.  When Nintendo said they were releasing the first two Prime games with Wii controls as well, I had to jump at the chance to get in on that action.

It had been over a year since I started this Prime 2 playthrough, so most of my time was spent figuring out where I was at in the game, and what I needed to do.  At least I got three missile expansions.

2:30am

It is time for the other creepy game I had planned: Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon.  My expectations for this game have been rising. This will be the first time I see it in action.  And I am starting to feel the drowsiness.

Fragile has got style.

Well, I was right in thinking that Fragile could bring the creep sauce.  There are some unsettling images and enemies to be sure.  Gameplay-wise it is one of the weirder games I have ever played. It is kind of like if The Last of Us was an adventure game and made in Japan.  It has a strange post-apocalyptic setting with a side of dreamscape vibe that creates something truly unique.  It also has an interesting smattering of gameplay elements. It is an action RPG, an adventure game, and a survival-horror game.  It is pretty cool. Fragile also uses the Wiimote speaker to great avail too.

4:30am

4 hours left! I’m feeling it pretty hard right now.  One game on the docket should wake me up though: No More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle.  I needed to make sure that I like NMH2 more than NMH before we dive into our “Best Wii Game Showdown Extravaganza.”  I beat NMH three times, once on each difficulty.  It is a thoroughly satisfying game.  I only beat NMH2 once, so that needed correcting.  I started it earlier this week and want to finish it off quick and dirty.

She plays just slightly different than Travis.

I defeated 3 bosses and now am ranked number 8.  This included Shinobu’s two fights, which are two of the harder levels in the game.  The first game may have a better story, but the sequel surpasses it in every other area.  Most importantly, NMH2 has fun job missions whereas; the original’s were repetitive and boring. In two games where you have to buy the chance to compete, job missions need to be engaging.

5:30am

I took a quick shower and now onto another game I have yet to touch: Lost in Shadow.  I have moderate expectations for this one.  I was pumped for it before it was released, but then it did not review outstandingly so I had decided to pass until now.

Wow, this game looks like ICO.  Too bad it isn’t as good as it.  The opening cutscene is beautiful although it is just watching the player’s shadow fall off of a large tower.  Sadly, there is falling damage.  I was thinking, “I just watched this shadow fall off of that huge tower, I bet I can’t take falling damage.” Wrong.  There is falling damage. For Shame.  Otherwise, it is fairly generic 2D puzzle platformer.  Apparently, it gets a little crazier about the halfway point, but I don’t remember how exactly.

6:30am

The final stretch! I’m feeling it pretty good, and I should make it no problem with only two hours left.  I am going to close the day with a game I should have completed a long time ago: The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion.  I haven’t even started it. Here’s to hoping it has an engaging first two hours.  I do not know how I am going to react to it.  I love Fallout 3, and I think Skyrim is all right.  I hear that Oblivion has better talking skills than ESV, and that is quite important to me, so who knows what I’ll think.

Oblivion on 360 might have the worst framerate I have ever seen.  The menus are kind of garbage-y and the UI is a mess to navigate.  Otherwise, it is a giant Bethesda game, so it is fun regardless of its flaws.

Concluding Thoughts

Now that this is the second time that I have successfully completed a 24-hour gaming marathon I find that it is something that I enjoy greatly.  It gives me the chance to plan a full day so that I am sure I am getting the most out of it.  Having a second person engaged in the same struggle was fun and helps to create lasting memories.  Next time it will have to be with 3 people!

There were a lot of standouts for the day, but the Donkey Kong Country marathon was probably the best part. Second would probably be Fragile followed by F.E.A.R., and No More Heroes 2 is always a good time.

The Final List

8:30am-11:30am – Final Fantasy VIII

11:30am-12:30pm – Jak II

12:30pm-2:00pm – Mario & Luigi: Dream Team

2:00pm -3:00pm – The Wonderful 101

3:00pm-3:30pm – Grandia II

3:30pm-4:30pm – Parasite Eve

4:30pm-5:30pm – Rune Factory 4

5:30pm-10:00pm – Donkey Kong Country

10:00pm-10:30pm – Sin & Punishment

10:30pm-12:00am – F.E.A.R.

12:00am-12:30am – Perfect Dark Zero

12:30am-1:00am – Sonic the Hedgehog (2006)

1:00am-2:30am – Metroid Prime: Echoes

2:30am-4:30am – Fragile Dreams

4:30am-5:30am – No More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle

5:30am-6:30am – Lost in Shadow

6:30am-8:30am – The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. 24 Hours of Gaming 3 | BADGamingPodcast - March 6, 2014

Leave a Reply

