Derek’s Top 10 Games of 2013

For a disclaimer, these are my top ten games. I chose these games because of the boundaries they tried to push, and the unique experience that you can have while playing them. All of these games impressed me, and I tried to pick different games that were not in the same genre or had the same feel, but here it is: the games that defined 2013 for me!

10. Tearaway

What a game! Short and sweet, and not gimmicky like I was thinking it was going to be. This game throws you into a paper world and it is hard not being curious what is around the next bin. Getting a message to yourself has never been more fun. Bending, poking, moving, and coloring the world to complete your adventure.  All of this is done by using all of the functions from the Vita, this is a must play game!

9.Injustice: Gods Among Us

I love comic books, and I love super heroes! I didn’t think there would be a fighting game that even came close to Marvel vs. Capcom (Since I am a huge Marvel fan), but I was wrong. All the characters play differently and they also have some really cool super moves! Besides the awesome presentation, there is actually a really good story in the 1 player mode! Who would have thunk!

8. The Stanley Parable

Look, It’s a game! It’s a interactive story! It’s… It’s… I don’t know how to explain this. The Stanley Parable is a game that reminds me of playing Portal, with it’s funny quotes and some tongue in cheek humor. This game was a blast to play and it has so many endings. It is a good way to spend the day if you feel like a light-hearted romp through the office cubicles that gradually turns into an adventure. This game is really unique and opens doors to what a game can be.

7. Dragon’s Crown

I will be honest, this game did not interest me one bit when I first heard about it. I was wrong, and I am glad my brother bought this game. Being an artistic person I was drawn to art of this game! It has a pretty good story and the replayability is extremely high. With it being a 4 player game and having a ton of characters to choose from, this game is a must for a unique dungeon crawling experience.

6. Tomb Raider

To reboot a game and try to create a beginning to an already famous character can be a risky idea.  This game does the Tomb Raider series justice, for it never has a dull moment and the graphics are amazing! The story is great and the ending sequence is one of the best parts of the game. This game is just flawless on what it does, and don’t get me started on those death scenes!

5. Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch

This game could have been the best RPGof all time, but instead it settled for being an amazing game. Having seen most of the Miyazaki films I was compelled to try this RPG out. (I really hate RPGs) The story was great and I really did like the instrumental score that surrounded this game, but my favorite part was the combat system. Instead of sticking with the old turned based style, Ni No Kuni tries something different. Is it perfect? No, but it kept me on my toes and made me concentrate every single moment.  If not, the game would eat me up and spit me out. This game is NEATO!

4. Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag

After the first Assassin’s Creed game I felt like the franchise was going downhill, there wasn’t much that made any of the games stand out from one another, except for the amount of bugs/glitches. This was true until Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag came out.  This game has so many positives going for it, and that it is one of the best games to get for the 2 new systems. Manning a ship and doing what a pirate does is what this game is all about.  So grab your rum and pour some salt water on yourself, ARRR it should be a good time!

3. Battlefield 4

Man this game should have been tested more….. but other than that this game is amazing! After a handful of patches this game finally sees the light and performs almost smoothly. With HD graphics and 60 fps on the PS4 this game is a power house to be reckoned with on multiplayer. Not to mention that there are 64 players playing on each map! The maps on this game are amazing! There is barely any level that I truly hate and they are all really creative.  I can spend hours upon hours on this game and always find something new, and because of this, this is a game that is a must or if someone is looking for a game worth your money.

2.  Grand Theft Auto V

This game is jaw dropping incredible. Rockstar has crammed everthing you could imagine into this game and more. With a good story and a creative way to play through the campaign, the game pushes boundaries  on what sandbox games can be. After the campaign is done you can jump online with some friends and start a gang of your own. Your buds can steal cars, planes, or even rob banks. The online mode gives this game extra life and is a much appreciated mode.

1.  The Last of Us

Holy cow… That is what I said at the end of this game when the credits started rolling. I haven’t been moved by a game for a while, and this game mad me tear up and laugh. With dynamic character dialogue and wonderful character developments, this game had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. With a wonderfully dark world to rummage around you get to control a character that you like but hate at the same time. I was conflicted many times, but my favorite character was Ellie. I loved her passion and spunk she always seemed to have, and it made the game a lot more believable. Whoever wrote the script to this game, I just want to give them a big hug. The gameplay is great and I found only one bug in the game for the many hours I played it.  This game dug a spot in my gaming heart that can never be moved or forgotten. Just like the first time playing Star Fox 64 or seeing Mario in 3D for the first time, this game is just too amazing to be put into words.

Leave a Reply

